Tracking & Evaluation

The Tracking and Evaluation (T&E) Program is committed to designing and implementing a rigorous, evidence-based evaluation of the Washington University Institute of Clinical and Translational Sciences (ICTS). This evaluation provides quantitative and qualitative data that can be used to demonstrate achievement of the ICTS specific aims, to guide strategic planning and ICTS program improvement, and to illustrate how the ICTS is helping the national CTSA program achieve its goals. The ICTS evaluation plan is innovative in using state-of-the-art evaluation data feedback tools and evaluation metrics derived from large-scale science evaluation initiatives and in applying network analysis and bibliometric data to measure collaboration and scholarly impact.

The T&E program is structured around a logic model which includes details on the evaluation approach, what types of information are collected and analyzed, and how we view the translational science outcomes derived from the successful operation of the ICTS program. According to our logic model, the activities and the outcomes of the ICTS are organized at 3 levels: individual, core, and institutional. The individual elements of the logic model are all directly or indirectly tied to the specific aims of the ICTS. The logic model was developed based on our experience with past large-scale institutional evaluations, after input from the ICTS leadership, and with guidance from other members of the CTSA Evaluation Key Function Committee.

The following tools are used to collect and analyze the tracking data:

  • User satisfaction surveys via web based survey software
  • Stakeholder interviews
  • Social network analysis
  • The Becker Model
  • Clinical Research Training Center databases
  • Service Tracker: an automated system for providing IRB, investigator and grant information for ICTS Core personnel for tracking services provided to ICTS members
  • Bibliographic databases and tools
  • Administrative Core member, services and funding program databases

The T&E team brings together individuals with extensive experience in academic and public health evaluation, transdisciplinary science, social and organizational network analysis, and bibliometrics:

  • Bradley A. Evanoff, MD, MPH (bevanoff@wustl.edu) Assistant Dean, Clinical and Translational Research; Director, Institute of Clinical and Translational Sciences
  • Christina A. Gurnett, MD, PhD (gurnettc@wustl.edu) Associate Director, Institute of Clinical and Translational Sciences; Professor, Departments of Neurology, Pediatrics, and Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Douglas A. Luke, PhD (dluke@wustl.edu) Director of ICTS Tracking & Evaluation, Director of the Center for Public Health Systems Science at the George Warren Brown School of Social Work at Washington University
  • Courtney E. Beers, MPH (beersc@wustl.edu) ICTS Associate Director, Operations 
  • Bobbi J. Carothers, PhD (bcarothers@wustl.edu) Senior Data Analyst at the Center for Public Health Systems Science
  • Todd Combs, PhD (toddcombs@wustl.edu) Data Analyst at the Center for Public Health Systems Science
  • Rachel L. Sorenson, MA (rldriskel@wustl.edu) Clinical Research Training Center Program Manager
  • Betsy J. Keath, PhD (ejkeath@wustl.edu) ICTS Navigator and Research Forum Director
  • Jennifer B. McKanry, MS (jmckanry@wustl.edu) Clinical Research Training Center Project Manager - Curriculum & Evaluation
  • Beth A. Mott, MA (emott@wustl.edu) ICTS Project Manager
  • Elizabeth H. Palombo, MEd (epalombo@wustl.edu) ICTS Evaluation Specialist
  • Cathy C. Sarli, MLIS (sarlic@wustl.edu) Scholarly Publishing and Evaluation Services Coordinator at Washington University School of Medicine Becker Medical Library
  • Amy M. Suiter, MS (asuiter@wustl.edu) Scholarly Publishing Librarian at Washington University School of Medicine Becker Medical Library